Key Competencies

The New Zealand Curriculum lists five Key Competencies:

  • Thinking
  • Relating to others
  • Using language, symbols and texts
  • Managing self
  • Participating and contributing

The Curriculum states that these competencies (TRUMP) are the key to learning in every learning area and that successful learners make use of the competencies in combination with other resources, knowledge and skills.  Mission Heights Primary School strongly acknowledges the emphasis on these competencies and views these as essential components in the delivery of the school curriculum’s, it’s ACE programme, personalised learning and integrated approach.

The key competencies are a critical thread in the Mission Heights Primary School curriculum. They enable students to participate in an increasingly diverse society, to use new and digital technologies, and to keep on learning throughout their lifetimes.  Teachers can describe how the competencies are embedded in their classrooms, in the learning areas themselves, and across the learning areas where an integrated approach is being taken.  Students at Mission Heights Primary School can all describe the competencies and give examples of learning experiences.  The key competencies are incorporated as ‘vehicles’ for curriculum delivery in combination with all the appropriate resources and opportunities from class and school activities to challenge and support students through wide ranging  contexts.