All posts by admin

Working with our community

In 2020 Mission Heights Primary is taking the time to evaluate and review the way we work with and for our community. We have exciting new initiatives planned for once we are back at school.

If you have any ideas about how we could interact better with our community or you would like to help, please do not hesitate to contact Jenny Keber ( 


Parents are asked to telephone or email the school reception (email or phone 09 277 7888) in the morning if their child will be absent from school. An answer phone service operates at all times for parents’ convenience.

If your child/ren are going to be absent from school for an extended period please inform the office prior to the absence by providing a letter or email. We are required to have written evidence of an absence for audit purposes.

Students who arrive late or who leave school during the day must be signed out at the office and signed in on return. Students who arrive at school after 8.40 am should report to the reception before going to their learning zones.

Students who leave the school grounds for any reason during the day must provide a note from parents, be signed out at reception, accompanied by an appropriate adult, and signed in again if they return to school during that day.

Any leave from school for overseas travel during term time is classified as truancy.  Special permission needs to be requested by email and/or appointment with the Principal, well before any travel arrangements are made.  The school takes any leave from school during term time seriously as it causes a backward slide in the students learning and social skills.

Board of Trustees

The MHP Board of Trustees meets every fourth Thursday in the Administration Building in Meeting Room 1 from 5.00pm onward.

MHP Board of Trustees

All of New Zealand’s state and state-integrated schools have a board of trustees. The board of trustees is the Crown entity responsible for the governance of Missions Heights Primary School. The board is responsible for establishing the School’s charter, which sets out the aims and objectives of the school and ensuring that the school provides a safe environment and quality education for all its students.

Board Membership

Mrs Caroline Bush – Principal

Mr Ajenesh Lal – Chairperson & Finance 

Mrs Sian Grant – Deputy Chairperson

Mr Paul Hale – Finance 

Mrs Jenny Wang – Property

Mrs Anne Singh – Property

Mrs Karen Hishey – Staff representative 


MHP Complaints procedures

New Zealand School Trustees Association

Te Whakaroputanga Kaitiaki Kura O Aotearoa

NZSTA is an independent organisation that represents and provides services to boards of trustees across New Zealand.  Click on the link above to connect to their website for further information.

Assemblies and Prizegiving


Whole school assemblies are held during odd weeks of the school term on Fridays at 8.50am.  Assemblies are held in the Hall and are formal school events where parents, visitors and invited guests are welcome to attend.  At assemblies certificates are awarded and successes celebrated.

Learning Community assemblies are held once a term on Fridays at 8.50 am in the Hall. Parents will be informed prior to the assembly if their child’s Learning Community is having an assembly.  Information is also available on the school’s website calendar of events.


Our prizegiving assemblies are held at the end of each school year.

The Junior Learning Community and Middle Learning Community have a Celebration Assembly.

There is an Awards and Service to the School assembly for Years 5 and 6.

The Year 6 students have an evening Graduation ceremony.